The Long Awaited Book Haul

tumblr_mu0emzk3kH1qaqajro1_500_zps1bb7f645So a few days ago, I bought some books at a bookstore. It has been quiet sometime since I buy any books as I just borrowed them from the library. It was a few months back and I realized that the urge and the need of buying some books were too strong for me to resist the temptation. I was not particularly looking for specific titles but I just cruise through the bookstore on what intrigued my eyes. I have to admit that if I could, I would just buy the entire bookstore if possible. But, maybe I could dream of it and own a bookstore in the future. I had picked out too many books and the amount of definitely out of my budget. Sadly, I had to handpick this three amazing books that I officially owns now.

25264134

The first book I picked was The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. I am embarrassed to admit that I had not read this book yet as this book won the Man Booker Prize in 1989. This book is considered to be a great piece of contemporary literature from British writers and the attention that it had been getting over the years were all positive and great. There was even a movie based on this book that received eight Academy Awards nominations.

17165596

The second book I picked was The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. It had been ten years since the book was first published and I bought the cover for the ten year anniversary. There were so many great positive feedbacks about this book in the reading community and I had to experience it firsthand.  The book was a number one bestseller in New York Times for over two years, with seven million copies being sold in the United States alone. The book was also developed into a movie that won numerous awards and was nominated for an Academy Awards.

19288239

The final book I picked was Colourless by Tsukuru Tazaki. I have heard about his work and I had to read just one of his books that were well-known. The book topped several United States bestseller lists from the first week of its publication. It was in one of New York Times Notable Book of the year in 2014 and was shortlisted for Independent Foreign Fiction Prize in 2015.

tumblr_lorlim944q1qfqudho1_500In all, I left the bookstore feeling satisfied with my choices of books. I just cannot contain my excitement of reading these books for the next couple of days or weeks. The feeling of reading a book bought for myself just gave a great feeling of ecstasy. I cannot contain where the excitement would bring my adventure next in these books.

Leave a Reply

