The Man in the Monster: An Intimate Portrait of a Serial Killer By Martha Elliott

The Man In The Monster

Synopsis

Martha Elliott gives us a groundbreaking look into the life and motivation of a serial killer. Drawing on a decade of conversations and letters between Ross and the author, readers are given an in-depth view of a killer’s innermost thoughts and secrets, revealing the human face of a monster—without ignoring the horrors of his crimes. Elliott takes us deep into a world of court hearings, tomblike prisons, lawyers hell-bent to kill or to save—and families ravaged by love and hate. This is the personal story of a journalist who came to know herself in ways she could never have imagined when she opened the notebook for that first interview.

books

My Review

I received this book through NetGalley from Penguin Group for an honest feedback.

Martha, the author, had written the book exceptionally well for the readers to be engrossed when reading. The book is not only compelling and intresting but presented in a way that allows me to be submerged whenever I opened it. The psychological explanation that she decoded from different psychatrist and doctors to explain what sexual sadism is made me understand it much better.

Martha intresting relationship with the serial killer, Micheal Ross, had evolved from the first time she was in contact with him. Initially, she was afraid of him because she was reminded of the terror he had induced on the families of the girls he had killed. The 8 girls whom he had murdered and 7 of those he raped was at the back of Martha’s mind whenever she interacted with him. But, their relationship evolved from being aquantices to good friends which involved weekly calls from Micheal. Martha had not only reminded me of the terror Micheal each time but also she had made me see the human being in him. By the end of the book, I was able to see how much he was struggling to gain control of the monster but he wanted forgiveness for all the sins he done which is doubtful to get from the family.

impressed

However, it’s particularly disturbing for me to read the details of the murder Michael Ross committed. The precised image of the process he made the girls did before killing them was creepy. At times, it made me freaked as I felt that I was there watching him doing all of these unthinkable acts and I was not able to do anything. These made me feared him and I felt that most readers would not be able to withstand reading the murders that will give them the graphics of how the monster did his bidding.

scared

Sum Up

Overall, I had to do many different readings to understand the psychological factor that was presented. It taken me a month to complete the book to have a better comprehension of Michael Ross. The flow of the book is well-thought and the evolution of the relationship between Martha and Michael was unexpected. I would recommend this book to a psychology student as they would be able to understand the mental illness that he had.

tv in your head

Ratings

5 Star

One thought on “The Man in the Monster: An Intimate Portrait of a Serial Killer By Martha Elliott

Leave a Reply

