The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring By J.R.R Tolkien

lotr

Synopsis

Continuing the story begun in The Hobbit, this is the first part of Tolkien’s epic masterpiece, The Lord of the Rings, featuring an exclusive cover image from the film, the definitive text, and a detailed map of Middle-earth.

Sauron, the Dark Lord, has gathered to him all the Rings of Power – the means by which he intends to rule Middle-earth. All he lacks in his plans for dominion is the One Ring – the ring that rules them all – which has fallen into the hands of the hobbit, Bilbo Baggins.

In a sleepy village in the Shire, young Frodo Baggins finds himself faced with an immense task, as his elderly cousin Bilbo entrusts the Ring to his care. Frodo must leave his home and make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and foil the Dark Lord in his evil purpose.

books

My Review

I felt transported into another world when I was reading this particular book. It was as if I was apart of the Fellowship and I was on the quest along with Frodo and the companion. It was a surreal feeling to be able to read the book that have so much detail in plot and writing. There is just so much beauty in this book for the readers to be appreciative of.

one does not simply

However, I felt that at times the book is slow-paced and draggy at certain moments. It can get frustrating as a scene may take 3 to 4 pages just to describe what is happening. What bothers me the most is that at times the scene get too long winded. These became a major hurdle for me as I was not able to read the book more efficiently and I was stuck at the same page for a few weeks as I had lost interest in reading it.

gandalf

Sum Up

Overall, I felt that J.R.R Tolkien was able to immerse the readers into the book with his beautiful language. He was able to create an entire language just to cater for his storyline which proves to be difficult. The flow and his way of writing may not be for many out there as it is complex in nature. I would be looking forward to be reading the second series of this instalment.

frodo

Ratings

4 Star

Leave a Reply

