5 Things I Learnt That I Love Doing Because Of My Depression

Depression has been a huge part in shaping my life currently. I absolutely do not enjoying having the illness that simply overpowers my decision. It is painful at times when the illness just seems to have no means to an end.

However, I had learnt many things about myself and others because of it. As terrible it may sound, I felt that it is a blessing in disguise. Here are five things that I learnt I love doing due to my depression.

1. Volunteering Work

An Outing At The Zoo With The Elderly

I have been doing volunteering work for almost a year now. It started out with me wanting to find some leisure activity. I felt that being cooped at home was not doing any justice to my mental health. I joined as a fellow mentor and a volunteer at the organization where my sister worked at. Since then, I have been enjoying my time serving under the management and I finally find a sense of purpose in my life again.

2. Doing Outdoor Activities 

Abseiling For The First Time

I am one of the most artistic people in my family and my group of friends. So doing any activities that involved the outdoors seemed daunting. I would rather be doing anything else than be spending time sweating under the hot sun. It all started with a work opportunity where I am supposed to be a trainer to students. My tasks were simple enough; to be a guide to the students while they were doing their activities. However, I was too intrigued with what they were doing and I tried it out myself. Since then, I am obsessed with doing any outdoor activities and I have done kayaking, rock climbing, zip line and other great stuff.

3. Going To The Gym

Not Going To Skip Leg Day

I have only been started going to the gym for the past two months and it was because of my symptoms that were acting up. Not wanting to do anything stupid, I mustered all the strength I had and went to the gym. I started to lift weights and used the machines after reading the instructions and asking the gym rats for help. I felt a sense of relieve as I worked out and it was as if I was in utopia. All my worries were gone and I was able to control my condition further. Now, I go to the gym regularly because of the great feeling I had while exercising.

4. Travelling

Candi Borobudur, Indonesia

I did not have many travel opportunities when I was younger because of financial constraints. So I would be spending most of my time in the country and doing any other monotonous stuff. Recently, I was given the chance to travel and hike Mount Lawu in Indonesia with my family. I fell in love with the culture there and their beautiful scenery. As tiring as it may be, I was in awe with the experience I had and will definitely be doing more travelling in the near future. Speaking of which, I would be going to Indonesia, Batam with my sister next week to do water activities. I am excited for it!

5. Writing 

My Writing That Went Viral On The Internet

My passion for writing only starts to bloom during my darkest period which was two years ago. I do kept journals and wrote poems when I was younger, but my interest in writing was not sparked into fire then. I felt that having depression allowed my passion of writing to dwell deeper and I am able to express myself more. Tranquillity swept through whenever I write and because of this I started to do it regularly. I began to send articles to the mainstream newspaper in my country and shockingly one of them was published. Since then, I used writing as a mean to escape my loud mind and an avenue to express myself.

With that, depression is not such a bad thing in my life after all. While I do struggle with my illness every day, I felt that it had given me many valuable lessons in return. I am truly grateful for all the things I learnt and I couldn’t ask for anything more.

9 thoughts on “5 Things I Learnt That I Love Doing Because Of My Depression

  1. What an inspiring example of taking hold of your own life instead of having your depression take hold of you:) Everything you mentioned is something that I think everyone should engage in to live a wonderful and exciting life:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • All of us have hard battles in our time here and I just felt that I have to try and keep on fighting hard on my illness. I am not going to let depression control my life as I know that I am capable more than that illness itself. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

