The Kite Runner By Khaled Hosseini

17165596

Synopsis

The unforgettable, heartbreaking story of the unlikely friendship between a wealthy boy and the son of his father’s servant, The Kite Runner is a beautifully crafted novel set in a country that is in the process of being destroyed. It is about the power of reading, the price of betrayal, and the possibility of redemption; and an exploration of the power of fathers over sons—their love, their sacrifices, their lies.

A sweeping story of family, love, and friendship told against the devastating backdrop of the history of Afghanistan over the last thirty years, The Kite Runner is an unusual and powerful novel that has become a beloved, one-of-a-kind classic.

books

My Review

There was no doubt that I am not a fan of the main character, Amir, from the beginning of the book. I felt that his characteristic was harsh towards his friend, Hassan, as he felt threatened due to the attention that he received from his father. Not only that, his unruly behaviour had caused him their friendship and it had caused other consequences. While I felt angry at Amir for how he is treating Hassan, I felt that it showed his lack of characteristics of a proper friend. Not only that, even after all these while, Hassan always haunted Amir even after he had settled in another country after seeking refugee. This was due to his unspeakable actions towards Hassan and it ate him up even when they had grown apart.

unbelievable_5th_element.gif

However, I felt that this story is such a powerful book as I felt that it brought forward a many unspoken issues for the readers to ponder. Khaled Hosseini brought light to the readers of what’s happening in Afghanistan after the Talibans took over from the citizens suffering to their lack of basic necessity. I also felt that he managed to remind the readers that the past can definitely haunt you till the present because of stupid actions that you committed.

821108

Sum Up

Overall, I found this book to be very moving from one page to another. I developed strong emotions from them and reading it all made me angry at the whole situation. While I had no one to blame as it is just part of the story, I felt that the book had definitely made me aware that I should live my life to the fullest and also resolved the past so that it won’t haunt me in the future.
impressed

Ratings

5 Star

Leave a Reply

