Don’t Generalize Me

I found it to be infuriating when the Older Generation put labels on us; Millennials. We are often called narcissistic, lazy, entitled, trophy-kids and other mean names. Just Google ‘Millennials’ and there are plenty articles that have these names. Take a shot for every mean names  you see when reading the articles. You might be drunk by the time you finish reading just that one.

However, I don’t put the blame entirely on the Older Generation for saying these to us. I just think that it is just a cycle of life. They were once called these names too when they were our age. In fact, Socrates did mention about entitled children during the 469-399 BC.

“The children now love luxury. They have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise.”

In spite of that, there is one thing that I would want the Older Generation to know when they are talking to me personally. DON’T GENERALIZE ME. I am not narcissistic, lazy, entitled, trophy-kids that you read or hear about. Each of us is our own person with characteristics, personalities, beliefs, life experiences and dreams. Try to get to know me first before putting labels.

These are the reasons to show why I am entitled, lazy and selfish prick that I am more than what the labels said:

  1. I am taking my Diploma in Media and Communications currently.
  2. I have 2 jobs – I am a tutor with 2 students whom I teach every weekday after my classes and I work at a Football Pitch every Saturdays. This means that my Sundays are spend on my assignments, projects and studying for examinations.
  3. I use my income from these 2 jobs to PAY for my Diploma Education. I am not depending on my parents or siblings for my tuition fees. In fact, I support myself as an adult.
  4. I am taking my Motorbike Licence which I am PAYING myself.
  5. During my free times, which is limited,  I volunteer for an Organization to help troubled youths in my community.

Could anyone please point out if there’s anything that qualifies me to be called “Entitled, Narcissistic and Lazy”?

Maybe writing this post does show that I am self-obsessed more than I thought. Oh well!

What I am trying to say is that that labels given by the media do not have to be necessarily associated to all of us. It doesn’t matter what they say about certain generation, gender, race, culture or even religion, what is important is that we defined ourselves NOT them.

6 thoughts on “Don’t Generalize Me

  1. Aaarch labeling, I don’t like it either. You’re so right, we all are unique and we shouldn’t generalize. Unfortunately lazy, entitled, trophy kids do exist and I hope they read this post, so they get motivated 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sadly those kids do exist and it is very disappointing to see that they have such qualities that don’t bring them far in life. Hopefully, each one of us can get motivated and do what we are capable of 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re doin great. Labeling groups of people has become too easy. My generation was just as bad as the generation that told us that and they were as bad as their grandparents said, and so on and so forth. The world doesn’t move forward because of old people, it’s the young that change the world. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is the truth. The older generation will always criticized the younger ones due to the differences that each one went through. I am sure that all generation have contributed to the well being of the society. We just need to learn how to live and integrate with one another in this world. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

