We Were Liars By E. Lockhart

16143347

Synopsis

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
 
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

books

My Review

I felt that the book has its mysterious elements well written. The pace of the book was fine and the writing was not too bad. I love the subplot within the book. It is a story within a story where I find it entertaining to read. The part about the Kings and his 3 Daughters with different variations made me enjoyed it more. I also love the twist in the ending which was different than the most coming of age books I ever read. It was unexpected which might be good or bad depending to the readers.

giphy

However, the characters in the book were one dimensional and lacked depth for me to better understand their motive in the story. The story does not really explain each character well which was a downfall. The writing can get a little irritating with the spacing in between the lines which have no purpose. It just disturbed how I read the story.

unbelievable_5th_element

Sum Up

Overall, I found the book to have a decent story line. I love the parts telling the story about the Kings and his 3 Daughters which gave different variations. The unexpected twist at the end worked in my favour. I just felt that the story needs to be work on further to give the readers a better satisfaction.

821108

Ratings

4 Star

Leave a Reply

